www.Ayrshireroots.com   and   www.Ayrshireroots.co.uk

Genealogy Section





Chapman County Codes



Chapman County Codes are standard abbreviations for British and Irish counties. Each comprises of three letters and they are widely used in genealogy. The codes are listed in alphabetical order of the abbreviation .

In 1974 the system of local government in England , Scotland and Wales was re-organised. Historic county boundaries were altered and some new counties were formed. Entries marked (*) did not exist prior to 1974. Irish counties, except those indicated as being in Northern Ireland, are currently in the Irish Republic. For convenience, entries for the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are listed under England.






ALD Alderney, Channel Islands

AVN Avon *

BDF Bedfordshire

BKM Buckinghamshire

BRK Berkshire

CAM Cambridgeshire

CHI Channel Islands (Sometimes just "CI")

CHS Cheshire

CLV Cleveland *

CMA Cumbria *

CON Cornwall

CUL Cumberland

DBY Derbyshire

DEV Devon

DOR Dorset

DUR Co. Durham

ENG England

ERY East Riding of Yorkshire

ESS Essex

GLS Gloucestershire

GSY Guernsey, Channel Islands

GTM Greater Manchester *

HAM Hampshire

HEF Herefordshire

HRT Hertfordshire

HUM Humberside *

HUN Huntingdonshire

HWR Hereford and Worcester *

IOM Isle of Man

IOW Isle of Wight

JSY Jersey, Channel Islands

KEN Kent

LAN Lancashire

LEI Leicestershire

LIN Lincolnshire

MSY Merseyside *

NBL Northumberland

NFK Norfolk

NRY North Riding of Yorkshire

NTH Northamptonshire

NTT Nottinghamshire

NYK North Yorkshire *

OXF Oxfordshire  

ABD Aberdeenshire

ANS Angus

ARL Argyllshire

AYR Ayrshire

BAN Banffshire

BEW Berwickshire

BOR Borders *

BUT Bute

CAI Caithness

CEN Central *

CLK Clackmannanshire

DFS Dumfries-shire

DGY Dumfries and Galloway

DNB Dunbartonshire

ELN East Lothian

FIF Fife

GMP Grampian *

HLD Highland *

INV Inverness-shire

KCD Kincardineshire

KKD Kirkcudbrightshire

KRS Kinross-shire

LKS Lanarkshire

LTN Lothian

MLN Midlothian

MOR Morayshire

NAI Nairn

OKI Orkney

PEE Peebles-shire

PER Perth

RFW Renfrewshire

ROC Ross and Cromarty

ROX Roxburghshire

SCT Scotland

SEL Selkirkshire

SHI Shetland

STD Strathclyde *

STI Stirlingshire

SUT Sutherland

TAY Tayside *

WIG Wigtownshire

WIS Western Isles

WLN West Lothian


ANT Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland

ARM Co. Armagh, Northern Ireland

CAR Co. Carlow

CAV Co. Cavan

CLA Co. Clare

COR Co. Cork

DON Co. Donegal

DOW Co. Down, Northern Ireland

DUB Co. Dublin

FER Co. Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

GAL Co. Galway

IRL Ireland

KER Co. Kerry

KID Co. Kildare

KIK Co. Kilkenny

LDY Co. Londonderry, Northern Ireland

LET Co. Leitrim

LEX Co. Laois

LIM Co. Limerick

LOG Co. Longford

LOU Co. Louth

MAY Co. Mayo

MEA Co. Meath

MOG Co. Monaghan

NIR Northern Ireland

OFF Co. Offaly

ROS Co. Roscommon

SLI Co. Sligo

TIP Co. Tipperary

TYR Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland

WAT Co. Waterford

WEM Co. Westmeath

WEX Co. Wexford

WIC Co. Wicklow


AGY Anglesey

BRE Breconshire

CAE Caernarvonshire

CGN Cardiganshire

CMN Carmarthenshire

CWD Clwyd *

DEN Denbighshire

DFD Dyfed *

FLN Flintshire

GLA Glamorgan

GNT Gwent *

GWN Gwynedd *

MER Merionethshire

MGM Mid Glamorgan *

MGY Montgomeryshire

MON Monmouthshire

PEM Pembrokeshire

POW Powys

RAD Radnorshire

SGM South Glamorgan *

WAL Wales

WGM West Glamorgan *


RUT Rutland

SAL Shropshire

SFK Suffolk

SOM Somerset

SRK Sark, Channel Islands

SRY Surrey

SSX Sussex

STS Staffordshire  

SXE East Sussex *

SXW West Sussex *

SYK South Yorkshire *

TWR Tyne and Wear *

WAR Warwickshire

WES Westmorland

WIL Wiltshire

WMD West Midlands *

WOR Worcestershire

WRY West Riding of Yorkshire

WYK West Yorkshire *

YKS Yorkshire





& .co.uk



Copyright 2000-15   The contents of these webpages are copyright.